South African Hip Hop Awards are back again this year

South African Hip Hop Awards are back again this year

The South African Hip Hop Awards are back again this year with the 8th annual ceremony happening on Wednesday, the 20th of November at The Lyric Theatre, Gold Reef City, Johannesburg. Great achievements within the local hip hop culture will be celebrated and winners will receive a statue called “the pyramid”.

The live nomination announcement which was held on Tuesday, the 29th of November. The team is proud to announce SABC 1 as the official broadcast partner for the third year in a row, an addition spreading the reach of the awards to millions of South Africans, but also aligning the awards to SABC 1’s proposition of being more than TV but youth culture. We’re also honored to introduce our sponsors which are Stylin’ Dredz and Hennessy respectively, the event proceedings promise to be more entertaining, informative and engaging for the Hip Hop masses that will be in attendance.

We have had some made some major changes to the categories and aim to raise the bar even higher, the changes include merging the MVP and Hustler Of The Year Award together to become one, the Best Video award will be awarded to the directors of the respective videos instead of the artists themselves and we have also had to remove out the Kings Of The Province, Best Graffiti Artist and the Best Dance Crew categories due to a declining number of submissions over the years. For the full list of nominees, click here

Public voting is now open and we have 7 categories that are eligible for public votes and this includes: Song Of The Year, Best Collabo, Best Video, Best Male, Best Female, Best Radio Show and Best Remix. Online and SMS voting will be open until the 17th of November 2019. Vote four favorite act now by SMSing (SAHHAs+code+nominee to 33110), SMS’s are charged at R1.50 and free SMS’s do not apply, alternatively vote on our website here
“The theme for this year is the revolution will be computerized and with the 4th industrial revolution fast approaching, we’re honored to be in the forefront of it all with the Hip Hop culture, this will be visible from the stage design, the skits we’re doing and the performances on the night.

It is always an amazing thing seeing the Hip Hop congregation come together, which is seeing the dancers, the graffiti artists, the producers and everyone in the room being happy for each other and congratulating each other because we’re all so happy that Hip Hop has come so far.

We’re currently shooting interviews for the South African Hip Hop Museum that we’re currently building and just to hear the stories from people like Lance Stehr, Ready D, Falko who will be our Honorary Award recipient and Emile YX? who will be our recipient for the Ubuntu Activism Award on how Hip Hop in South Africa was like in 1984 is proof on how far we’ve come and that indeed the revolution will be computerized” said the Director Osmic Menoe at the live nomination announcement.

The show will be pre-recorded and air on SABC 1, those who wish to attend the ceremony can purchase tickets at any Shoprite/Checkers outlet or online from Computicket.